From the Beginning

Before I became a freelancer, I was just a student filmmaker producing films and video. I had no idea that one day I would enter the freelance business and start making money based on my skills. In May of 2010, that all changed for me. I received a call from a lady who was a local wedding photographer and noticed some of my work online: Chair on Stair Films

Derek Pfister. Chair on Stair Films.

She was looking for a videographer for a huge Catholic wedding that was taking place at the end of June. I was nervous since I didn’t have any wedding experience at the time, but I knew if I didn’t take this opportunity, I wouldn’t expand my skills and make new connections. What was even more of a shocker was I received a text message from my good friend Nick that next day in May. His sister was getting married and she needed a wedding videographer last second. Here is the even bigger shocker, her wedding was the next day after the Catholic wedding I was shooting. This was a huge challenge for me, but I took both of them. Making connections and taking any opportunity you can get is what the film and video business is all about.
Next time I will talk about my experiences during these two weddings and the lessons I learned. Every time you have a new experience, you learn something different to incorporate next time.

Here is my wedding demo reel:

Right now I am a senior at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh majoring in Radio/TV/Film with a minor in Journalism. I am scheduled to graduate this May and enter the news broadcasting business.

Leave a Reply

